## MINUTES

Regular Meeting
BOARD OF REGENTS

May 12, 2016

South Plains College

The Board of Regents of South Plains College met on Thursday, May 12, 2016, at 4:00 p.m. in the Board of Regents Room for their regular meeting with the following present: Mr. Mike Box, Chairman; Mr. Bobby Neal, Vice Chairman; Ms. Linda Patton, Secretary; and other members of the Board; Mr. Pete Pettiet; Mr. William Clements; Mr. Ken Williams, and Mr. Ronny Alexander. Others present were Dr. Robin Satterwhite; Ms. Teresa Green; Ms. Cathy Mitchell; Mr. Stephen John; Mr. Dan Hook; Mr. Stephen Henry, of the News-Press; Mr. Jody Rose, of KLVT; Ms. Myrna Whitehead, News and Information Coordinator; and Dr. Kelvin Sharp.

Guests present: Ronnie Watkins, Dean of Administrative Services.

Mr. Pettiet gave the opening prayer.

Mr. Box led the pledge to the United States Flag.

The Chairman asked if there were any changes to be made to the minutes; there being none, Mr. Clements made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Second by Ms. Patton, vote to approve was unanimous.

Mr. Ronnie Watkins presented the election returns/results for the May 7, 2016 Board Election. Mr. Mike Box was re-elected to Position #3, with 397 votes. Mr. Richard Ellis received 213 votes. Mr. Ronny Alexander was uncontested for Position #4; declared elected. See Exhibits #4052 and #4053. Mr. Williams motioned to accept the election results as presented. Mr. Pettiet seconded and the motion passed with unanimous vote.

The Chairman then requested a motion to appoint the fifth President of South Plains College. Mr. Neal made a motion to appoint Dr. Robin Satterwhite as President. Mr. Alexander seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

The Chairman called on the Vice President for Academic Affairs for his report. Dr. Satterwhite reported that the 34th Annual Employee Recognition Banquet will be held this evening at 6 p.m. in the PE Complex, following the Board of Regents' meeting. Honored at this year's banquet will be 15 faculty members receiving tenure, 33 faculty receiving rank promotions, 88 employees will be recognized for various lengths of service (1,145 total years of service), 14 individuals who are retiring in the spring; as well as 7 in the fall of 2015 (440 total years of service) and outstanding employees and faculty that will

be receiving the Excellence Awards; exhibit #4054.

The Chairman called on the Vice President for Student Affairs for her report. Ms. Mitchell reported on SPC's 58th Annual Commencement, to be held May 13, 2016 at 9:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. in the Texan Dome. 1,498 students have applied for graduation, and 889 plan to participate, an increase from 2015 when 778 participated in Commencement.

Mr. Box then called on the Vice President for Business Affairs to report. Ms. Green presented the Tax Office Report and Financial Reports. The Chairman asked if there were any questions regarding the reports, there being none, Ms. Patton moved that the Board accept the reports as shown in Exhibits #4055 and #4056. Second by Mr. Clements and the motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Green then presented two resolutions for resale of property; Mr. Julian Guzman, Account #R12554, motion to approve was made by Mr. Alexander, second by Mr. Williams and vote was unanimous; exhibit #4057. Followed by Ms. Deborah Soto, Account #R09245, motion to accept the resolution was made by Mr. Neal and seconded by Ms. Patton. Vote carried unanimous. See Exhibit #4058.

Mr. Box called upon the Vice President for Institutional Advancement for his report. Mr. John presented a resolution naming two former students of the college Distinguished Alumni for 2016; exhibit #4059. Mr. John said the Distinguished Alumni Awards Selection Committee reviewed 16 nominations from faculty, staff, community members and other alumni. The nomination materials for these former students were thoroughly reviewed by the committee, and the following individuals were recommended for this distinctive honor: Deborah Adams Alsup, a 1985 graduate from Gravette, Arkansas, and Elijah D. Williams, a 1999 graduate from Simpsonville, South Carolina. Mr. John provided a summary of the achievements of each finalist. Following, comments, Mr. Box asked for a motion to adopt the board resolution naming these individuals Distinguished Alumni of the College. Motion was made by Mr. Alexander and seconded by Mr. Pettiet. Motion passed unanimously. The honorees will be recognized at the Employee Recognition Banquet scheduled for 6 p.m. May 12, 2016.

The Chairman called on the President for his report. Dr. Sharp distributed the budget parameters for 2016-2017. The discussion of those parameters will be on next month's agenda. See Exhibit #4060. Meeting adjourned.

Chairman	Secretary	